New Years and Resolutions

A firework in Bratislava, Slovakia, 2005

New Years Resolutions always seem like a bad idea to me.

Firstly, there’s the idea that you simply must be doing something “bad” that you need to change. I’m all for improvement and goal setting, but more often resolutions are born out of guilt, the idea of “should” or “should not” and denial.

Secondly, you are set up for failure almost immediately. I mean, how many of us have followed through on a resolution for the full 365 days of the following year?

So are you going to make Resolutions for 2009? I’ve created a poll for your responses.

12 Responses to “New Years and Resolutions”


  1. 1 Julia Monday, 29 December 2008 at 8:34 am

    So you know who the random person is, I’ve just started following you on Twitter. :)

  2. 2 Fat Academic Monday, 29 December 2008 at 9:51 am

    I don’t make resolutions but I do set goals. Subtle difference : )

    bri

  3. 3 Jen Monday, 29 December 2008 at 11:22 am

    I wandered in from the Fatosphere feed. My only real resolution is to quit swearing so much, damnit.

  4. 4 Fantine Monday, 29 December 2008 at 12:09 pm

    When I decide I need to change something, I work to change it when it needs to happen. Why wait to change what needs changing until the new year? That’s why I think new year’s resolutions are a waste of time.

  5. 5 fatgirlonadate Monday, 29 December 2008 at 2:29 pm

    I give myself “themes” instead of resolutions. Last year my themes were fat acceptance, feminism, writing and dating. There were no tangible goals associated with these, but I did a lot of work on three (FA, writing, dating).

  6. 6 April D Monday, 29 December 2008 at 3:26 pm

    I made a New Year’s resolution about 3-4 years ago to never again make a New Year’s resolution. Thus far it is the only one I’ve kept! ;)

    If I think there is something about myself, my habits, or any part of my life that needs changing I refuse to fall into the mentality that it needs to have some sort of fresh-chalkboard start date like January 1. I’m an adult and as such I can choose to make any changes to my life that I desire, at any time. Screw the 1st of the New Year as a time of “buckling down” as though I must be doing something “wrong”. It is the same mentality I don’t understand when people start going crazy during Lent too. But I digress… :)

  7. 7 wellroundedtype2 Monday, 29 December 2008 at 3:50 pm

    Here’s my very corny resolution: To be less “fed-up” with myself and to be more “FAT-UP” with myself, Forgiving, Accepting, Tolerant, Understanding and Patient. I’m probably going to blog about this before or on New Year’s Day, but thanks for asking…

  8. 8 meowser Monday, 29 December 2008 at 4:38 pm

    I think of it as “goals” too, rather than resolutions. Goals have a certain amount of flexibility and take fate into account; resolutions try desperately to override reality at all costs, and it always made me feel like shit when I couldn’t achieve them. There IS a universe out there, and lots of other people exist in it; it’s not all about you (general you) and your desires, although those of course should not be ignored.

  9. 9 Fatadelic Monday, 29 December 2008 at 8:34 pm

    Bri & Meowser – I agree goals are different to resolutions. I think you’ve nailed it, Meowser, with the idea that resolutions “desperately to override reality at all costs”

    Julia – Thanks. I’ve started to follow you too. I look forward to some interesting tweets.

    Jen – lol.

    Fantine, Fat girl on a date and April – I hear you.

    Wellrounded – FAT UP sounds cool. I’ll be watching out for your blog post on that.

  10. 10 4wrdthnkndad Tuesday, 30 December 2008 at 2:55 am

    I have resolved to apologize to one person in the new year. I intend on doing that. Happy new year.

  11. 11 Moe Tuesday, 30 December 2008 at 5:16 am

    That’s one of the reasons I like the word “goal”. Goals change, they are updated, they’re less dreamy. And I don’t feel bad if I don’t meet a goal. It just means my priorities have changed. :) Happy New Year!


  1. 1 I resolve…to be unresolved « I AM in shape. ROUND is a shape. Trackback on Wednesday, 31 December 2008 at 3:11 pm

Leave a Reply

Fatadelic

 

Archives

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Reading



Click to view my Personality Profile page

RSS FA Links Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Notes from the Fatosphere

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Fat Liberation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Copyright

All content on this site is Copyright
© 2002 - 2010
by Fatadelic.
All rights reserved.




Site Meter

