Wisdom

From Michelle at Mouthfeel (who seems to be on a roll, lately):

Q: If I pursue weight loss, what is the most likely outcome, given past experience?

A: It would make me crazy, trigger disordered eating, and I’d eventually gain it back anyway.

Q: Am I more interested in being smaller, or feeling physically comfortable and better about myself?

A: The latter two. (Weight loss, in our culture, has become undeniably conflated with the pursuit of health and self-esteem, even though it is actually in diametric opposition to those things. That’s why it’s so insidious, and can be so seductive, even to people who have rejected it for years. Because who doesn’t want to feel good about their body? And who isn’t surrounded by the message that dieting will get them there?) When I actually was physically smaller and dieting, I got physically ill, and felt worse about myself. That’s what impelled me to find an alternative.

Q: So is there something I can do that will help me achieve those things, without the craziness and health risks of weight loss?

A: Yes. I can recommit to what I have learned about feeding myself well, and I can find enjoyable ways to move, visit a health professional to address any issues, and buy myself some new damn clothes.

Essentially, I can be nicer to myself, and turn up the self-care a notch. I can recommit to Health at Every Size.

0 Responses to “Wisdom”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fatadelic

 

Archives

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Reading



Click to view my Personality Profile page

RSS FA Links Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Notes from the Fatosphere

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Fat Liberation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Copyright

All content on this site is Copyright
© 2002 - 2010
by Fatadelic.
All rights reserved.




Site Meter

