I am going to MURDER this cat

Dear god, it’s happened again. For the last two months, Lilly, my Turkish Van, has been peeing in inappropriate locations constantly. First it was my bed once a week more often than not when I was in it – but now it has become more frequent (every 2nd day) and other places the lounge, shoes and items left on the floor and John’s bed (which is a big problem since his room needs to be hygenic for dialysis). I am at my wits end. We’ve tried Feliway, washing the doonas, ‘aversion therapy’, extra cuddles. It is not due to lack of clean toileting facilities. When Lexi, one of my other cats, went through this about 5 years ago we used the ‘ignore it, give her love and it will go away’ technique and it worked. But with Lilly? I can’t figure her out or how to get her to stop. Any suggestions?

Edit:
This is the lovable face of the culprit. Looks sweet and innocent, doesn’t she?

Edit 2:
Sounds like a trip to the vet is in order, at least to rule out illness.

20 Responses to “I am going to MURDER this cat”


  1. 1 Bri Thursday, 15 May 2008 at 10:33 pm

    Does she have a UTI?

  2. 2 sulochanosho Thursday, 15 May 2008 at 10:49 pm

    Just dont murder that cat, rather try moderating his/her toilet behavior firmly but lovingly too – it is bound to
    listen.

  3. 3 mustelid Thursday, 15 May 2008 at 11:22 pm

    I’ve had similar problems with my cat. When I told the vet, she suggested testing for a UTI. I told them it didn’t seem likely to me, but agreed it was a good idea just to be safe. So, they took her in back, and got some urine out w/ a catheter. The Beastie expressed her displeasure by peeing on the vet tech! Some cats are just stuck on ‘thinking outside the box’ to express their displeasure. Of course, heaven forbid they tell you what they’re mad about. You should know that already./snark

  4. 4 Robotitron Thursday, 15 May 2008 at 11:31 pm

    Aww, pobrecita. She’s a cutie. Like the others have asked, has she been to the vet? One of my darling little jerks had a bladder infection that we didn’t even know about until she went into the doctor’s office for something unrelated. Cats are good at hiding what the real problem might be.

  5. 5 Fatadelic Thursday, 15 May 2008 at 11:34 pm

    Hm. I don’t think it’s a UTI as she won’t just wee wherever but will actually seek out a ‘comfortable’ mum or dad smelling place to pee. eg. tonight she was making noise and getting attention, etc, but wouldn’t settle. I went upstairs to get something in John’s room and she followed me up and peed on the bed while I was in the room.

    I think its more likely to be stress or ‘trying to tell us something’ which we are too dense to understand. Anger is a possibility, but not sure what she’d be angry about since she is the most cosseted, spoilt, indulged cat there is.

  6. 6 Fatadelic Thursday, 15 May 2008 at 11:43 pm

    But yes, the UTI thing is probably worth checking out.

  7. 7 Diana Thursday, 15 May 2008 at 11:50 pm

    For sure check out the UTI. That could totally cause the peeing outside the box.

  8. 8 April Thursday, 15 May 2008 at 11:54 pm

    I agree with those suggesting the UTI checking or even a bladder infection. Our very old grey cat started doing that random peeing at one point…ALWAYS in my brother’s clothing (tee hee…I mean *ahem* bad cat! ;)) But when checked out it turned out he had a stone and once removed he used the box again no problems!

  9. 9 desirerich Friday, 16 May 2008 at 12:25 am

    Take her to the vet. She could be seeking out comfort from those “mum and dad smelling places’with a UTI. My cat did. After he was diagnosed we talked about it and I think it makes sense. When a person is in pain she wants comfort from those that love her. Besides, if it isn’t a UTI, it could be anxiety or stress and the vet could help find an appropriate treatment for that as well.

  10. 10 Piffle Friday, 16 May 2008 at 1:16 am

    We had this problem with a cat, never could fix it how we’d like to have been able to. What did work for us was to put her in a single room, about 10×12, with her litterbox and food. We never could let her out again, but we had a comfy place to sit and read with her in our laps. Nice kitty, but just not willing to go far to pee.

  11. 11 shinobi42 Friday, 16 May 2008 at 1:33 am

    The fact that feliway didn’t help means that it is likely not a marking behavior. Health issues is always the first thing I think of when I hear outside of the box peeing.

    I’m going to 10th the trip to the vet. She may not seem like she feels ill, but the reason she may seek out things that smell like you to pee on may be that she is uncomfortable when peeing and wants smells that make her happy around her.

    Other suggestions for once you have taken her to the vet. Have you thought about putting the litterbox in the rooms where she likes to pee inappropriately? I know, Smelly yuck, but if you get her used to using it and then slowly move it to its normal location? (Or use a smaller one in the bedroom and slowly it closer to the other box.)

    Also, were there any big changes 2 months ago that might have caused this? Change in diet or cat litter? Or family changes?

    Is she declawed? My parents cat is declawed and he loves to pee in crazy places.

    And you’re using a good pet cleaner, right? even on clothes? I use Nature’s Miracle. It really gets out the pet smell quickly and I haven’t had problems with it damaging stuff. I usually treat animal spots with it before I wash my sheets or whatever. If they can still smell even the barest hint of their wee on something they will think it is OK to pee there. A lot of regular household cleaners do not do a good enough job.

  12. 12 shinobi42 Friday, 16 May 2008 at 1:34 am

    Oh also, I highly recommend thecatsite.com They have very knowledgeable people on their forums.

  13. 13 bookwyrm Friday, 16 May 2008 at 2:16 am

    Some cats will look for the comfort “you” smell with they are uncomfortable with their UTIs. I’ve seen mine walk right past the box to find somewhere closer to me to pee.

  14. 14 thoughtracer Friday, 16 May 2008 at 2:44 am

    I have a turkish van and she does the exact same thing. Its gotten progressively worse, and she’s been tested repeatedly for utis. She’s now at my ex husbands house, and I am going to lose my security deposit. What a nightmare. I feel you.

  15. 15 TropicalChrome Friday, 16 May 2008 at 4:07 am

    I’ve had two cats that were “problem pee-ers”.

    The first was simply VERY picky about her litter condition – she only liked one type of litter, no more than 1/2″ deep, in an open litter box (no lid). She wouldn’t use anything else. So we made sure she got what she wanted and she became much better about her habits.

    The second was a cat who had been absolutely fastidious about his litter habits who suddenly became…um, less so. To make a long and painful story short, it turned out he had a fairly rare and hard to diagnose form of cancer, to which we eventually lost him.

    So I agree with the posters – it’s worth a trip to the vet. Especially since this has become a pattern.

  16. 16 Thene Friday, 16 May 2008 at 4:31 am

    One of my household’s dogs has something similar – she wets herself whenever certain people touch her, but not others. We’ve yet to figure it out – I just make sure I only pet her out in the yard. :/

    This is possibly a harsh suggestion, but could you try keeping her mostly confined for a few days, in a large dog cage or a room with a linoleum floor, with a littertray but nothing ‘comfy’ to pee on? That’s one method of getting puppies litter-trained; keeping them in a nice big cage with lots of toys, then letting them out to play in the garden every couple of hours. They soon learn they’d rather not soil their home. But cats aren’t like dogs – they need their space :(

  17. 17 Alexandra Lynch Friday, 16 May 2008 at 6:11 am

    I am washing somewhere around fifty yards of wool roving today. Because Someone got up on the lid of the box it was stored in and peed on it.

    I feel your pain.

  18. 18 mustelid Saturday, 17 May 2008 at 5:44 am

    Definitely get her checked out by the vet, if only to rule out health problems. The Beastie passed her test w/ flying colors, BTW. No health problems, just damn stubborn. She thinks I should get up and feed her at 4 every morning. I disagree,and if she’s corralled in the bedroom w/ me, I usually ‘win’ that round for the day. If she’s on the wrong side of the door…does Nature’s Miracle come in 55-gallon drums? *sigh*

  19. 19 Lynne Saturday, 17 May 2008 at 1:07 pm

    Ah…my world a year ago. After my ex left I spent a YEAR coping with a cat (the little darling is my avatar) that would constantly pee on my bed (to the point that I was sleeping on an air mattress). I would change litter types, add an uncovered box, put the box in another room, religiously clean the boxes – all would work for a couple weeks and then the behavior would start up again. Negative tests for UTI (though definitely, as everyone else has said, get it checked out). I took to stripping my bed EVERY morning before leaving for work – that way if he peed on the bed, at least I wasn’t coming home and having to wash bedding. After telling the vet all of this (and reaching my wit’s end) she suggested…Prozac. My response was to laugh incredulously. A week later, after returning from a vacation to find not only the bed completly…ummm…odorous, but the year old couch ALSO nailed, I arranged to have the prescription picked up the next afternoon. He now gets a daily dose in his canned food at night (it comes in a syrup because, of course, we give it to children), and the behavior is MUCH improved. To the point that I am sleeping on an actual mattress like the big girl that I am :)

  20. 20 kim Saturday, 7 June 2008 at 12:44 am

    It sounds behavioral if the vet hasn’t found anything. Talk to the vet about using amitriptylene–it’s an anti-anxiety drug. Many cats with urinary behavioral issues do well with this.


Leave a Reply

Fatadelic

 

Archives

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Reading



Click to view my Personality Profile page

RSS FA Links Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Notes from the Fatosphere

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Fat Liberation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Copyright

All content on this site is Copyright
© 2002 - 2010
by Fatadelic.
All rights reserved.




Site Meter

