Some brief thoughts, and I’ll leave it at that.

  • I do not define myself as either a “good” or a “bad” fatty. I am just fat. Fat is not a moral issue. Nor is food.
  • But society does divide fat people in that manner. To some extent, a fat person can earn a ‘pass’ or at least avoid a ‘fail’ by following the ‘rules’ (wear black, be well groomed, eat only salad, exercise, blah, blah, blah) and – of course – by showing an ‘appropriate’ amount of shame and a desire to ‘rectify’ the situation. It’s bullshit, but it occurs. It’s the “I don’t think of you as a fat person” phenomenon.
  • I do, myself, follow HAES – and I do, myself, advocate it as a sane, holistic approach to mental, emotional and physical health. I interpret it as discarding an arbitrary set of rules for “health” and, instead, learning to follow one’s own instinct with regards to food, exercise and the body’s needs – what works for you.
  • But that doesn’t mean I am better or worse than … anyone.
  • I believe that we are all learning to have perfect self acceptance and body acceptance. It’s a journey, sure, but do we every really reach the destination?
  • I welcome any fat activism. Period.
  • Discussion of fat and health is important and valid and serves a purpose. Mythbusting is good.
  • But “fat people can be healthy” is not the only message we need to convey.
  • And we (note the ‘we’) need to check our unconscious biases in at the door.
  • Each of us needs to fully consider how we as individuals want to participate in that activism. What works for some, won’t work for others.
  • Fat Acceptance is (clearly!) not monolithic. Nor should it be. We have a range of view points, a range of goals, and a range of ideas on how best to achieve those goals. That’s great. Every little raindrop counts.
  • I am not asking anyone to moderate what they say so as “not to offend” – but I do believe that, periodically, we need to look at who we (again, note the ‘we’) may unintentionally be marginalising. This is the same for any movement.
  • And discussion about the best strategy to counter the arguments of the opposition can’t be a bad thing, can it?
  • Finally, asking the Fatosphere as a whole to reassess our unconscious biases and/or knee-jerk reactions (and evaluate whether they are continuing to work for us or not) does not equate to criticism, finger pointing or lack of appreciation for past and present contributions. Really.
8 Responses to “Some brief thoughts, and I’ll leave it at that.”


  1. 1 Bri Thursday, 20 March 2008 at 8:48 pm

    Exactly!

    Thank-you for your eloquence.

  2. 2 Fatadelic Thursday, 20 March 2008 at 9:23 pm

    Thanks Bri.

  3. 3 Lindsay Thursday, 20 March 2008 at 9:41 pm

    Made of 100% win.

  4. 4 beckduer Thursday, 20 March 2008 at 11:23 pm

    Fabulous!

    Just, Fabulous!

    I’m pointing people this direction and I’d like to print this and keep a copy with me at all times!

  5. 5 Twistie Friday, 21 March 2008 at 5:02 am

    Fatadelic? I think I love you. That is all.

  6. 6 lynnie Friday, 21 March 2008 at 5:54 am

    I think you make many good points, but I have to say, I just haven’t seen a lot of “good” vs “bad” fatty attitudes in the fatosphere. It’s something I encounter in mainstream culture all the time, but I don’t hear that kind of stuff from fat activists or read it on fat positive blogs. Yet suddenly, every fat blog I read is talking about the good/bad fatty issue as if it’s a big problem with fat activists. I agree with Kate Harding that this discussion on the fat positive blogs recently is really about a straw fatty.

  7. 7 Fatadelic Friday, 21 March 2008 at 9:20 am

    Lindsay, Beckduer and Twistie – Thanks. :)

    Lynnie:

    Yet suddenly, every fat blog I read is talking about the good/bad fatty issue as if it’s a big problem with fat activists.

    I can’t speak for anyone else, but I for one have never said that any Fat Activist divides people into “good” or “bad” fatties. I have said -repeatedly – that how we approach debate and respond to attack from fat-haters can play into those exact same attitudes you “encounter in mainstream culture all the time”.

    Which is not a straw fatty.

    Nor is the Fatosphere is an echo chamber – for anyone. Diversity of opinion is a good thing and should be encouraged.

  8. 8 sandrar Friday, 11 September 2009 at 8:14 am

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. :) Cheers! Sandra. R.


Leave a Reply

Fatadelic

 

Archives

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Reading



Click to view my Personality Profile page

RSS FA Links Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Notes from the Fatosphere

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Fat Liberation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Copyright

All content on this site is Copyright
© 2002 - 2010
by Fatadelic.
All rights reserved.




Site Meter

