Insert Expletive Here.

Why? Because the bloody XLS file I’ve been working on all week has disappeared up in smoke! Not in my recycle bin, not in my file history, not even where I KNOW I saved it (and have been opening it from all god-damn week). Excel’s auto-recover did not automatically recover this file. A search of all xls files on my computer does not find this file.

Fuck!!!!

Any suggestions? It’s work, so Windows XP is the operating system.

5 Responses to “Insert Expletive Here.”


  1. 1 apricotmuffins Thursday, 21 February 2008 at 7:55 pm

    windows recovery option? i cant help you much more but that SUCKS. hope you find it. randomly disappearing files are the pits.

  2. 2 James Nealon Thursday, 21 February 2008 at 10:07 pm

    A few ideas that may or may not work:

    Temp folder in your Windows directory. You wouldn’t believed what gets crammed in there.

    The Application Data folder in your Documents and Settings Folder under your user name. Another place windows squirrels things away.

    If you have Recent Documents enabled in your Start Menu, and I am sure you have tried this, just try and see if it opens.

    Just a few ideas, wish you the best, one of the reasons I switched off of windows was because of that particular problem.

  3. 3 Marste Thursday, 21 February 2008 at 11:47 pm

    I don’t know how big your company is, but if it’s big enough to have its own Tech Support, they may be able to recover it. I know someone in the legal department where I work who is constantly losing things, and I.T. can always recover them – even when they’re not showing up anywhere on the computer. I think there’s a limited time frame for it, though: 24 or 48 hours or something.

    Good luck!

  4. 4 Fatadelic Friday, 22 February 2008 at 12:25 am

    Thanks all for the suggestions.

    Apricot Muffins – I’ve spent all afternoon trying to find how to restore items that have already been ‘permanently deleted’ in case that is what happened to it somehow.

    James – I’ve already tried all those things. I’ve also tried using a restore program, but it is not showing up as deleted, either in the Recycle Bin or as being deleted from there (if you know what I mean).

    Marste – Thanks for the suggestion, although my faith in our ‘Unhelp Desk’ is not high.

    I think I’m just going to have to redo the work. Bugger.

  5. 5 peggynature Friday, 22 February 2008 at 10:50 am

    Probably not, but is there any chance that the file extension got changed by accident?

    Computers. They are fun.


Leave a Reply

Fatadelic

 

Archives

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Reading



Click to view my Personality Profile page

RSS FA Links Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Notes from the Fatosphere

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Fat Liberation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Copyright

All content on this site is Copyright
© 2002 - 2010
by Fatadelic.
All rights reserved.




Site Meter

