Wow!

I’m not exactly used to feeling “good” (see Depression).

I normally self treat with aromatherapy, but my normal blend hasn’t been doing much for me recently (I’ve been going through a rough patch with the D), so I decided to play around and make myself a new spritz:

Wow, that stuff is AMAZING. The smell when I spray it on is divine and I can feel an almost immediate effect. And it’s really helping.

I experience a moment of bliss (actual bliss!!!) when I spray myself with it. The neroli is such a beautiful scent and the sandalwood just blasts me while the bergemot is sooo calming.

And it’s helping day-to-day with the D, too. Faster than going back on anti-depressants would, and with less side effects. I don’t care if the improvement is due to the therapeutical properties of the oils, the psychological affect of the scent or just plain old placebo effect.

I’m definitely less anxious and more relaxed. I can definitely think and concetrate better, though I still lose words or my train of thought occasionally. I still feel like I’m dragging my limbs through quicksand, but I have energised enough to do normal things (like the vacuuming). My mood has lifted a bit overall.

This is unusual for me. Really unusual. I hope it continues.

11 Responses to “Wow!”


  1. 1 randall Saturday, 26 January 2008 at 6:45 pm

    Since I suffer from chronic anxiety and depression I will give your potion a shot. I may even try and drink it….if i get desperate enough.

    Be well.

  2. 2 Caasana Sunday, 27 January 2008 at 4:48 am

    Where do you spritz it specifically? Like a perfume? On your clothes? A pillow? Like an air freshener?

    I’m self-medicating for dysthymia, but I’ve never tried aromatherapy. Was just wondering what the best application for this would be so I could try it.

  3. 3 TheDeeZone Sunday, 27 January 2008 at 9:27 am

    Sounds like it might be better than medication.

  4. 4 Thene Sunday, 27 January 2008 at 9:44 am

    It’s great that you’ve found something that works so well for you – may it continue to do so!

  5. 5 Phledge Sunday, 27 January 2008 at 10:31 am

    Huh, I’ve always used sandalwood and bergamot for my depression, but I’ve never put neroli into the mix (it’s SO expensive!) so I might give that a try. Thanks for the great idea, and I’m glad it’s working for you! :)

  6. 6 threio Sunday, 27 January 2008 at 11:18 am

    Cool, I like the smell of oranges, I boil the orange peels and water, it’s quite soothing to me. I have a parrot so I can’t use air freshner.

  7. 7 Fatadelic Sunday, 27 January 2008 at 12:35 pm

    Thanks guys, I hope this keeps working too.

    Casana:

    Where do you spritz it specifically? Like a perfume? On your clothes? A pillow? Like an air freshener?

    I think all of those would work. I spray it on like a perfume, concentrating on pulse points; If it was in an oil or cream base (rather than a spritz) I’d just dab some on in same places.

    Phlege

    I’ve never put neroli into the mix (it’s SO expensive!) so I might give that a try.

    That’s why I used Neroli water instead of Neroli oil – it’s a fraction of the price. I also had to use some solubuliser (or whatever you call it), but its still cheaper than the Neroli oil.

    Threio, I like the orange peel idea. Might give that a go.

  8. 8 The Rotund Monday, 28 January 2008 at 1:36 am

    That sounds like it smells SO GOOD. Three of my favorite scents but I’ve never combined them.

  9. 9 Inmate1972 Wednesday, 6 February 2008 at 12:05 pm

    I know this is gonnna sound utterly weird, but when I run orange and lemon rinds through to clean the garbage disposal, the smell gives me this insane lift. Seriously, intense citrus and I feel so much better.

  10. 10 mommajunk Monday, 11 February 2008 at 7:23 am

    This sounds like something that would be great for me.
    But I haven’t the first clue as to where to begin, besides the links for the oils you recommended.
    Would you share the recipe for the spritz for newbies to aromatherapy?
    Or is there a place I could find it?
    Thanks


  1. 1 Pages tagged "placebo" Trackback on Sunday, 27 January 2008 at 4:03 pm

Leave a Reply

Fatadelic

 

Archives

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Reading



Click to view my Personality Profile page

RSS FA Links Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Notes from the Fatosphere

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Fat Liberation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Copyright

All content on this site is Copyright
© 2002 - 2010
by Fatadelic.
All rights reserved.




Site Meter

