Hell Week

It’s my first week back at work following my ‘holidays’ and it’s been hell. I’ve been running around since Monday like a headless chook, trying to compile accurate reports with 5 minutes notice from old, useless data I inherited from someone just before I went on leave.

Oh, and did I mention that the report is for a meeting with the CEO?

I am ready to SHOOT the Disorganised Idiot who gave me no notice to prepare. He is a repeat offender; his lack of planning becomes someone else’s emergency. I hate that. After talking to him about his requirements, it surfaces that the DI will need new reports every few days for the next month or so for the project he is working on.

Ordinarily, this would not be so much of a problem, as the data should be kept ‘fresh’ at all times, but at present it is not. The person who was doing this before me let it get into a mess, and so now I have to clean it up before the reports can be produced accurately. Fortunately, my manager understands the situation and I was able to delegate some of the running around to my team-members, but I have still been working very late nights and snapping John’s head off from the stress.

On other fronts, I am not sure if I mentioned that John no longer has a job. He quit after his boss engineered a situation to make him do it. (We know that it was engineered because John quit on Sun 25th, but his position was already in the paper on Mon 26th (a public holiday). There is no way that add could have been placed on Sunday night and still make it for the Monday paper.) So we are in another tight financial situation. I don’t know how we are going to get the rent paid this month. I have confidence that John will get another job quickly, but even a week without his income will be very hard.

Let’s hope things look up next week.

0 Responses to “Hell Week”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fatadelic

 

Archives

February 2003
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
2425262728  

Reading



Click to view my Personality Profile page

RSS FA Links Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Notes from the Fatosphere

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Fat Liberation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Copyright

All content on this site is Copyright
© 2002 - 2010
by Fatadelic.
All rights reserved.




Site Meter

