I’m Creative and Analytical

At least, that’s what the Right Job, Wrong Job test at e-Mode says:

You’re a visionary in many people’s eyes ó able to think outside of the box to come up with your own solutions. You’re creative not necessarily in the artistic sense, but because you can expand your mind to do things differently from others.

It might take a while for colleagues to recognize and reward for your entrepreneurial spirit and abilities. That could be because they envy you, or because they find your ideas slightly rebellious ó willing to go against the current.

All in all, you make it hard for people to pigeon hole you. That is why you, more than others, need a job that allows you to play to your strengths, break out of the mold, and truly excel.

So what is my ideal job, according to this quiz? Apparently I should be an architect — but it’s OK if I prefer to be a graphic designer, film editor, creative writer, interior designer, commercial artist or musician. In fact, the quiz goes on to say, I may (GASP!) even be perfectly happy in another job.

Alright, sarcasm aside, these are some of the areas I have been looking into, particularly graphic design, multi-media production, artist, web designer…etc. I do acknowledge that I have a creative side that I have ignored for many years.

Actually, John has always encouraged me to pursue my talents, and he has increased my confidence in them tenfold since we have been together. I guess I was always the one in my family (school, life…whatever) who didn’t fit in, who didn’t feel quite right, who thought that to fit in meant denying everything that she actually was. I have always been known as “the smart one”, which comes with a certain amount of obligation. It is actually very limiting to think of yourself in one way like that — I can’t do art, ’cause I’m doing 3 unit maths and they are incompatible.

People in Australia don’t readily accept those who are intelligent, creative and about as unsporty as you can get. The Tall Poppy Syndrome flourishes. I did have my little bit of apathy/rebellion in years 11 and 12 and in uni. Although I knew I was perfectly capable of doing hard sciences such as Chemistry or Physics, and I was actually quite interested in them, I chose to do purely arts subjects (though not Art itself) — things like 3 Unit Ancient History, Modern History and 3 Unit English. Actually, to be perfectly honest, it was as much timetabling restrictions as not wanting to be forced into the HSC ** production mill: “Do 3 unit Chemistry, 3 unit Physics, 4 unit Maths and 3 unit Economics and you’ll get a really high weighted HSC score!”.

Aaahh. Now I seem to be tooting my own trumpet. But, hey, after so many years of being unable to look at the positive side of things, not to mention the positive side of myself, isn’t it about time I started to acknowledge some of my skills and attributes?


**Note to Non-Australians: For those who don’t know, the HSC (Higher School Certificate) is a rigorous set of exams that takes place in Year 12. Students study for the exams over two years. I don’t know exactly how it has changed since “my day” — other than that our scores used to be out of 500, whereas now students receive a percentile ranking — but it used to be that a student had to do at least 11 units of study, with 2 unit subjects being the base. Some students opted to do up to 14 units. Certain subjects offered 3 unit studies, and Maths offered a 4 unit course.

There was a (usually) 3 hour exam for each subject, which usually required students to write a couple of essays on the spot. Oh, and did I mention trial exams at the end of year 11 and midway through year 12? Oh yes, and the exams were not all. We also had a huge number of Assessment tasks over the two years, which counted towards our final HSC score. The sadistic teachers must have teamed up at the beginning of each year to ensure that all Assessment Tasks for all subjects were due on exactly the same day!

So, understandably, it is a very stressful time since it is drummed in to every year 11 and 12 year student that one’s HSC score does not just determine one’s life; it is one’s life.

You will thus forgive me if I laugh when I hear horror stories about the multiple-choice SATs.

0 Responses to “I’m Creative and Analytical”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fatadelic

 

Archives

September 2002
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Reading



Click to view my Personality Profile page

RSS FA Links Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Notes from the Fatosphere

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Fat Liberation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Copyright

All content on this site is Copyright
© 2002 - 2010
by Fatadelic.
All rights reserved.




Site Meter

