Curiosity

<!–syndicate
| Personality tests are always a bit dodgy, but I can think of at least 2 early childhood experiences that support the theory that I am motivated by curiosity.
/syndicate–>
From Emode

Melanie, your Key Motivator, the thing that really drives you to success in life, is Curiosity.

Based on your answers about values, past behaviours, and internal priorities, we can tell you look for ways to be independent, to understand how things work, to have new and diverse experiences, or to explore sexuality. In addition, you may find that you’re also motivated by aspects of prestige, stability, connection, and experience.

These personality tests are always a bit dodgy, but I can think of at least 2 early childhood experiences that support the theory that I am motivated by curiosity.

Firstly, there was the toothpaste incident. I am not sure if my mother remembers this or not, but I certainly got in trouble for messing up her bathroom. You see, one day when I was in the bathroom, I noticed that a stray piece of toothpaste had fallen on to the side of the bathroom cabinet below the basin. On touching it, I discovered that it was set hard. It had never occurred to me that toothpaste could set, that it could be anything other than a paste. So I decided to find out how long it took to harden. So I squeezed a length of toothpaste out on to the cabinet, in a similar position to the first one.

I checked back on my toothpaste experiment daily, and when someone had inconveniently cleaned, I simple squirted more toothpaste. I was intrigued to discover that it took more than 2 days for toothpaste to harden, but was prevented from further experimentation by something along the lines of this:

“Melanie Jane, just what do you think you are doing with the toothpaste!” (By the simple expedient of adding ‘Jane’ to the sentence, my mother managed to convey that I was in BIG trouble.)

“I’m seeing how long it takes to harden.”

At which point my mother seemed torn between throwing her hands up in despair, snatching the toothpaste tube from me, cleaning the cabinet, or giving me a slap on the backside. The slap on the backside won out.

The second incident didn’t just exasperate my mother, it panicked her. We were living in North Queensland at the time, and power outages were fairly common. During this particular one, I was playing happily with a doll in the lounge room when the lights went out (no suspense there, right?). Mum found some candles and matches and lit one so that we could see. For some reason she needed to go into the kitchen, so in a stern voice she told me to stay where I was, and to keep my doll’s clothes away from the candle.

A little bell went off in my head. It had never crossed my mind that a doll’s dress could be dangled in a candle flame, and since grown-ups always tell you not to do fun things, I guessed that this must be highly amusing. I admit, I also wanted to see what would happen.

Predictably, I took the dress off my doll, and dangled it in the flame. Since the dress was 1970s nylon (fire safe fabric, bah whoey!) it ignited in around about half a second. As I screamed in terror, and dropped the dress, I couldn’t help but notice how it burned really quickly and little, round, black, melted blobs of nylon firstly formed at the edge of the fabric, then dropped off on to the floor.

Funnily enough, my mother has been paranoid about me and candles ever since. And no, it makes no difference whatsoever that I was 3 or 4 then, and that I am 30 now.

0 Responses to “Curiosity”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fatadelic

 

Archives

June 2002
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Reading



Click to view my Personality Profile page

RSS FA Links Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Notes from the Fatosphere

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Fat Liberation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Copyright

All content on this site is Copyright
© 2002 - 2010
by Fatadelic.
All rights reserved.




Site Meter

