Medical Updates

I finally went to my opthamologist appointment on Wednesday, and he has confirmed the optometrist’s diagnosis of keratoconus. On the scale of things, he said that my right eye was moderately affected (the scale being mild, moderate or severe) and my left eye mildly affected. He also noted that my eyes have already become worse since my last eye prescription – that’s only a few months ago – but I kinda knew that already, as I am getting so many headaches, and can’t read the titles on my bookshelf even with my glasses on.

In any case, the opthamologist wants to try me with RPG contact lenses. I mentioned to him that the last time I tried contacts (about 6 or so years ago) it was a disaster as my eyes were too dry but he said that contact lense technology has changed since then, so I should give them a go. I guess I’ll have to, because the alternative is either putting up with glasses that don’t do much or, in the extreme case, cornea transplants. He did say that only about 10% of patients who are severely affected in both eyes have the surgery, as it is a last resort. Relieved to hear that, as I scared my self silly thinking that I would have to have someone else’s cornea stitched to my eye eventually.

0 Responses to “Medical Updates”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fatadelic

 

Archives

June 2002
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Reading



Click to view my Personality Profile page

RSS FA Links Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Notes from the Fatosphere

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Fat Liberation

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Copyright

All content on this site is Copyright
© 2002 - 2010
by Fatadelic.
All rights reserved.




Site Meter

